The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2009

Fortum Corporation
Stock exchange release
2 February 2009, 12.00 EET

The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2009

The Annual General Meeting of Fortum Corporation's shareholders, held on 1 April
2008, appointed a Shareholders' Nomination Committee consisting of
representatives of the three largest shareholders to prepare proposals for the
next Annual General Meeting (AGM) concerning Board members and their fees. In
its meeting on 2 February 2009, the Shareholders' Nomination Committee decided
to propose to the AGM, which is planned to be held on 7 April 2009, that the
Board consists of seven members and following persons are elected to the Board
of Directors:

Peter Fagernäs as chairman
Matti Lehti as deputy chairman
Esko Aho as member
Sari Baldauf as member (new member)
Ilona Ervasti-Vaintola as member
Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg as member
Christian Ramm-Schmidt as member

The Shareholders' Nomination Committee proposes to Fortum Corporation's AGM that
the fees to be paid to the members of Board remain unchanged compared to 2008
and are as follows:
Chairman, EUR 66,000/year
Deputy chairman, EUR 49,200/year
Member, EUR 35,400/year
Meeting fee, EUR 600/meeting.

The meeting fee is also paid for committee meetings and is paid in double to a
member who lives outside Finland in Europe. Furthermore, travel expenses shall
be compensated for in accordance with the Company's travel policy.

Fortum Corporation
Maria Romantschuk
Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications
Further information:
Pekka Timonen, Chairman of the Shareholders' Nomination
Committee, tel. +358 (0)9 1602 3000 
Key media


Sari Baldauf,
born 1955, M Sc, Business Administration
Ms Baldauf holds honorary doctorate degrees in Technology (Helsinki University
of Technology) and Business Administration (Turku School of Economics and
Business Administration). She is an Honorary Fellow of London Business School.

Main simultaneous positions of trust:
Member of the Board in CapMan Plc, F-Secure Corporation, Daimler AG,
Hewlett-Packard Company and Sanoma Corporation. She is also Member of the Board
of Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA and Finnish Cultural Foundation, vice
chair of the board of International Youth Foundation and chairman of the Board
of Savonlinna Opera Festival.

Primary work experience:
Nokia Corporation, 1983 - 2005, several senior executive positions, member of
the Group Executive Board 1994 - 2005.