The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2010

Fortum Corporation
Stock exchange release
2 February 2010 at 9.00 EET

The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2010

The Annual General Meeting of Fortum Corporation's shareholders, held on 7 April
2009, appointed a Shareholders' Nomination Committee consisting of
representatives of the three largest shareholders to prepare proposals for the
next Annual General Meeting (AGM) concerning Board members and their fees. In
its meeting on 1 February 2010, the Shareholders' Nomination Committee decided
to propose to the AGM, which is planned to be held on 25 March 2010, that the
Board consists of seven members and following persons are elected to the Board
of Directors:

To be re-elected:
Matti Lehti as chairman
Sari Baldauf as deputy chairman
Esko Aho as member
Ilona Ervasti-Vaintola as member
Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg as member
Christian Ramm-Schmidt as member

As a new member:
Joshua Larson as member

The Shareholders' Nomination Committee proposes to Fortum Corporation's AGM that
the fees to be paid to the members of Board remain unchanged compared to 2009
and are as follows:
Chairman, EUR 66,000/year
Deputy chairman, EUR 49,200/year
Member, EUR 35,400/year
Meeting fee, EUR 600/meeting.

The meeting fee is also paid for committee meetings and is paid in double to a
member who lives outside Finland in Europe and in triple to a member who lives
elsewhere outside Finland.

Furthermore, travel expenses shall be compensated for in accordance with the
Company's travel policy.

Fortum Corporation
Anne Brunila
Executive Vice President, Corporate Relations and Sustainability 

Further information:
Pekka Timonen, Chairman of the Shareholders' Nomination
Committee, tel. +358 (0)9 1602 3000 
Key media


Joshua Larson

Born 1966

Master of International Affairs (Columbia University in the City of New York),
Bachelor in Russian language (The University of Texas at Austin)

Main occupation:
Private investor and consultant

Primary work experience:
IFC Alemar, CEO, Senior Managing Director
The Carlyle Group, Managing Director, Moscow
Morgan Stanley, Executive Director, Head of Russian Operations, Moscow
Goldman Sachs International, Executive Director, Co-Head of Russian Business,
London and Moscow