The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2012


The Annual General Meeting of Fortum Corporation, held on 31 March 2011,
appointed a Shareholders' Nomination Board consisting of representatives of the
three largest shareholders and, in addition, as expert member the Chairman of
the Board, to prepare proposals for the next Annual General Meeting concerning
Board members and their fees. In its meeting on 31 January 2012, the
Shareholders' Nomination Board decided to propose to the Annual General
Meeting, which is to be held on 11 April 2012, that the Board consists of eight
members and that the following persons are elected to the Board of Directors.

To be re-elected:
Sari Baldauf, as Chairman
Christian Ramm-Schmidt, as Deputy Chairman
Minoo Akhtarzand, as member
Heinz-Werner Binzel, as member
Ilona Ervasti-Vaintola, as member
Joshua Larson, as member

To be elected as new members:
Kim Ignatius, as member
Veli Sundbäck, as member


The market value of Fortum has developed favourably in the long-term, and in
the recent years the company has become one of the most valuable companies in
Helsinki stock exchange. At the same time, the company has grown
internationally and continued strong investments as well as paid good, steady
dividends to its shareholders. The remuneration of the Board of Directors,
however, has not been revised to correspond with the market value development
and the increased work demand of the Board of Directors. For these reasons, the
Nomination Board proposes a one-off increase in the Board remuneration to
correspond with the remuneration level of other Finnish companies.

The Shareholders' Nomination Board of Fortum has decided to propose to the
Board and Annual General Meeting the following fees to be paid to the members
of Board:

- Chairman: EUR 75,000/year
- Deputy Chairman: EUR 57,000/year
- Members: EUR 40,000/year
- The Chairman of the Audit and Risk Committee, unless he/she is not
simultaneously acting as Chairman or Deputy Chairman of the Board: EUR

In addition, a fee of EUR 600 per meeting is proposed. The fee would also be
paid for committee meetings and in double to a member who lives outside Finland
in Europe and in triple to a member who lives outside Europe.

Furthermore, travel expenses shall be compensated for in accordance with the
company's travel policy.

Fortum Corporation
Anne Brunila
Executive Vice President, Corporate Relations and Strategy

Further information:
Pekka Timonen, Chairman of the Shareholders' Nomination Board, tel. +3589 1602

Key media


Biographical details of the new proposed Board members

Born 1956

B.Sc (Econ.), Helsinki School of Economics and Business Administration

Main occupation:
Sanoma Corporation, CFO, 2008 -

Primary work experience:
TeliaSonera AB, Executive Vice President and CFO, 2003 - 2008
Sonera Oyj, Executive Vice President and CFO, 2000 - 2002
Tamro Oyj, Group CFO, 1997 - 2000

Key positions of trust:
Millicom International Cellular S.A., Chairman of the Audit Committee

Kim Ignatius does not own Fortum Corporation shares.

Born 1946

LL.M., University of Helsinki

Main occupation:
Vaaka Partners Oy, Chairman of the Board

Primary work experience:
Nokia Corporation, Executive Vice President, Corporate Relations and
Responsibility; Member of the Group Executive Board,
1996 - 2009
Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Secretary of State, 1993 - 1996
Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Under-Secretary of State for External Economic
Relations, 1990 - 1993

Key positions of trust:
Finnair, Vice-Chairman of the Board, member of the Board, 2004 -

Veli Sundbäck owns 40,000 Fortum Corporation shares.