Stock exchange release

The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2010

02 February 2010, 09:00 EET

Fortum Corporation Stock exchange release 2 February 2010 at 9.00 EET

The nominees for Fortum's Board of Directors for the year 2010                  

The Annual General Meeting of Fortum Corporation's shareholders, held on 7 April
2009, appointed a Shareholders' Nomination Committee consisting of              
representatives of the three largest shareholders to prepare proposals for the  
next Annual General Meeting (AGM) concerning Board members and their fees. In   
its meeting on 1 February 2010, the Shareholders' Nomination Committee decided  
to propose to the AGM, which is planned to be held on 25 March 2010, that the   
Board consists of seven members and following persons are elected to the Board  
of Directors:  
To be re-elected:      
Matti Lehti as chairman                                                         
Sari Baldauf as deputy chairman                                                 
Esko Aho as member                                                              
Ilona Ervasti-Vaintola as member                                                
Birgitta Johansson-Hedberg as member                                            
Christian Ramm-Schmidt as member                                                

As a new member:                                                                
Joshua Larson as member                                                         

The Shareholders' Nomination Committee proposes to Fortum Corporation's AGM that
the fees to be paid to the members of Board remain unchanged compared to 2009   
and are as follows:                                                             
Chairman, EUR 66,000/year                                                       
Deputy chairman, EUR 49,200/year
Member, EUR 35,400/year                                                         
Meeting fee, EUR 600/meeting.                                                   

The meeting fee is also paid for committee meetings and is paid in double to a  
member who lives outside Finland in Europe and in triple to a member who lives  
elsewhere outside Finland.                                                      

Furthermore, travel expenses shall be compensated for in accordance with the    
Company's travel policy.                                                        

Fortum Corporation                                                              
Anne Brunila                                                                    
Executive Vice President, Corporate Relations and Sustainability                

Further information:                                                            
Pekka Timonen, Chairman of the Shareholders' Nomination                         
Committee, tel. +358 (0)9 1602 3000                                             
NASDAQ OMX Helsinki                                                             
Key media                                                                                                                                

APPENDIX: CV                                                                    

Joshua Larson                                                                   

Born 1966                                                                       

Master of International Affairs (Columbia University in the City of New York),  
Bachelor in Russian language (The University of Texas at Austin)                

Main occupation:                                                                
Private investor and consultant                                                 

Primary work experience:                                                        
IFC Alemar, CEO, Senior Managing Director                                       
The Carlyle Group, Managing Director, Moscow                                    
Morgan Stanley, Executive Director, Head of Russian Operations, Moscow          
Goldman Sachs International, Executive Director, Co-Head of Russian Business,   
London and Moscow