Stock exchange release

Change in the composition of Fortum's Shareholders' Nomination Board

08 September 2014, 9:00 EEST


In accordance with the earlier announced, Fortum has invited the representatives of the company’s three largest registered shareholders as of 1 September 2014 to the Shareholders' Nomination Board: The Government Ownership Steering Department of the Prime Minister's Office; The Social Insurance Institution of Finland KELA and The State Pension Fund (of Finland). Out of the owners, The State Pension Fund has informed Fortum that they will not use their right to nominate.

Members of Fortum's Shareholders' Nomination Board are Eero Heliövaara, Director General of the Government Ownership Steering Department and Liisa Hyssälä, Director General of The Social Insurance Institution of Finland as well as the Chairman of Fortum's Board of Directors Sari Baldauf.

The purpose and task of the Shareholders' Nomination Board is to prepare and present to the Annual General Meeting, and, if necessary, to an Extraordinary General Meeting, a proposal on the following matters: proposal on the remuneration, number and members of the Board of Directors. In addition, the task of the Shareholders' Nomination Board is to seek candidates as potential
board members.

The now appointed Nomination Board shall forward its proposals for the Annual General Meeting to the Board of Directors by 31 January 2015.

Fortum Corporation
Helena Aatinen
Senior Vice President, Corporate Communications
+358 10 452 0480

Key media

Fortum’s purpose is to create energy that improves life for present and future generations. Catering to the versatile needs of our customers, we generate, distribute and sell electricity and heat, and offer related expert services. Our operations focus on the Nordic and Baltic countries, Russia and Poland. In 2013, Fortum’s sales totalled EUR 6.1 billion and comparable operating profit was EUR 1.6 billion. We employ approximately 8,800 people. Fortum’s shares are traded on the NASDAQ OMX Helsinki.